Mission

The birth of a mission

In August 2013, during a visit to serve in rural China, I encountered a large number of the phenomenon known as "Left-behind Children" . A look at the data reveals that as China's society develops and the economy rapidly accelerates, more and more of the country's farming population have ventured into urban cities to make their living. These migrants leave behind their children in their home villages, resulting in a group categorized as "Left-behind Children" . This has become an issue of great social concern for China.


Being inspired by the "Left-behind Children" and burdened by the desire to understand the needs of them, we have visited China's remote and impoverished areas. We have encountered many tragic stories: aging grand-parents who were sad and ashamed of not being able to take care of their "Left-behind Grand-Children" ;  "Left-behind Children" troubled and paranoid because the families' only breadwinners died in traffic accidents; and parents separated or divorced due to long term physical separation. China has never experienced a problem of similar nature, like the one being discussed in its past thousands of years! In the past, no matter how difficult the situation was and how hard life had become, the children always stayed and endured the ups and downs of life with their parents. However, in this era, large groups of parents have left their children in their home villages in order to work in the cities for their livelihoods. They have no choice but to rely on the grandparents or neighbors to take care of their children and return to visit only once per year or even over a span of several years.

In the absence of parental guidance, "Left-behind Children" often wander around in groups and many encounter accidents. Every year, tens of thousands of children die in drowning, traffic accidents and accidental poisoning in China. A great majority of them are "Left-behind Children" . In addition, because of loneliness and isolation, their personalities often become eccentric, with low self-esteem, and they easily plunge into negative emotions such as grief, anxiety, and resentment. Their self-value and outlook on life become depressed, and it is easy for them to go astray. This group of growing "Left-behind Children" , in the long absence of parental guidance and discipline, lose their sense of direction in life. In terms of personality, moral character, learning, mentality, and family values, or even the meaning of life, they are easily led astray by societ's negative influences, which could potentially lead to a widespread social crisis, or epidemic, of wayward youth.

There is a saying, 'Robust youths build a strong country; bright youths shape a wise nation' . Whether this enormous group of "Left­ behind Children" will become the burden or the hope of our country rests on our decision today and the action each of us takes now in the Love and Care Campaign!

Agnes Chiang
Founder/Chairman
  • We respect the value and dignity of people and commit to help Left-behind Families by providing physical, mental, social and spiritual care and support.
  • We concern three Left-behind groups and aim to allow:
    • Left-behind Children to gain love and growth support, build positive character, correct value, and equip themselves as leaders in the future.
    • Left-behind Women to learn new knowledge and skills, live a new life, and develop their potential and workforce to benefit the community.
    • Left-behind Elderlies to gain support and care, reduce their burden of child-care but spend life in the old age with hope and comfort.

宗旨

一个使命的诞生

2013年8月,在一次到中国农村服事期间,让我看见大量「留守儿童」。翻查资料,才发现随着中国社会经济起飞,越来越多的农民走入城市谋生,把孩子留在家乡,导致在农村产生了一个特殊的未成年群体 - 「留守儿童」,已成为国家关注的社会问题!


带着这份感动,并了解「留守儿童」的需要,我们走访了中国贫困偏远之地,看到难过又自愧乏力照顾「留守儿童」的年迈祖父母,目睹内心封闭及偏激的孩子,听到打工父母因遭遇交通意外离世,或因长期分离以致父母离异,家庭破碎的悲惨故事,实在令人心酸!中国数千年来都没有像今天的境况!因为过去无论环境顺逆,生活多艰难,孩子们都一定跟随父母,甘苦与共。但现在这大群「留守儿童」的父母却因为生计,离乡别井到省城打工,无奈地把年幼子女交给祖父母或邻居照顾,平均一年,甚至数年才回乡探望孩子。

在缺乏看管下,「留守儿童」经常联群四处游荡,意外频生。而每年全国儿童溺毙,遭遇交通意外及不慎中毒等死亡的留守儿童已达数以万计,当中就有很多是「留守儿童」。此外,他们的性格往往因孤单变得孤僻,自卑,容易陷入悲痛,焦虑,怨恨等负面情绪中,自我价值观和人生观偏离,容易走入歧途。这大群正值成长期的「留守儿童」,因为长期缺乏父母关爱和管教,失去成长方向,在性格,品德,学习,心志,对家庭和爱的价值观念上,甚至生命的意义都容易被社会的歪风冲击而扭曲,这将成为社会潜伏的危机!

所谓「少年强,则国强;少年智,则国智」,这大群「留守儿童」到底将成为国家的负担,还是国家的希望?命运「定在今朝」 - 需要我们每一个人所付出实际的关爱行动了!

爱基金创办人/主席
蒋丽萍
  • 我们重视人的价值与尊严,致力扶助留守人群,提供身、心、社、灵上的关顾和支援:
    • 让「留守儿童」得到关爱和培育,建立良好的品格和价值观,成为未来的社会栋樑。
    • 让「留守妇女」学习新的知识和技能,发挥潜能和劳动力,帮助农村儿童和老人。
    • 让「留守老人」得到适切关顾,减轻育儿负担与辛劳,晚年得安慰。